Print Back
North Macedonia North Macedonia City of Skopje

« City of Skopje » takes part in the European Local Democracy Week - a paneuropean event coordinated by the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe - as « Partner association »

City of Skopje

Тhe City of Skopje is a public organization and an administrative unit which enjoys a particular status granted by law. The City of Skopje is divided into 10 municipalities in its jurisdiction. The City of Skopje is a separate kind of local self-government led by the Mayor, Ms. DanelaArsovska, settled with a separate Law for City of Skopje. The city has its own administration that is responsible for organizing and performing the necessary tasks to comply with the competences and responsibilities of the city. Pursuant to Article 3 of the Decision on the internal organization, The City of Skopje is presently comprised of 703 employees engaged in 20 different departments (Financial Affairs Department, Legal Affairs Department, Local Economic Development Department, Spatial Planning and Organization Department, Communal Affairs Department, Traffic Department, Public Activities Department, Education Department, Environmental Protection Department, Department for International Cooperation and Cooperation with NGO’s and Foundations International cooperation unit, Information Technology and Modernization Department, Department for Support of the Mayor, Sector for Support of the Council of the City of Skopje, General Affairs Department, Department of the Inspectorate of the City of Skopje, Internal Audit Department, Unit for Protection and Rescue). The City of Skopje has also 8 public enterprises and 8 public institutions under its authority as an extension of the executive branch that are important for the implementation of the annually planned programmes and activities.
Image du partenaire