You are reading the edition 2013 "Active citizenship at the grassroots level – voting, sharing, participating"
« Return to current edition
United Kingdom United Kingdom

12-Star City

STOCKTON ON TEES Borough Council

Stockton-on-Tees is located at the heart of the Tees Valley in the North East of England. The area is within easy reach of city shopping and leisure facilities, the coast and rural North Yorkshire, as well as being home to industrial zones. There is a mixture of urban centres, [......]

Partner cities

Maidstone Borough Council

Maidstone Borough Council (MBC) is the second level local authority for the Borough of Maidstone in Kent, United Kingdom.

Melton Borough Council

Melton is a local government district with borough status in north-eastern Leicestershire, England. It is named after its main town, Melton Mowbray. Other settlements include Asfordby and Bottesford. It has a population of 46,861.

Merton, Council

Formed in 1965, the London Borough of Merton is an outer London borough to the south-west of the capital. It has a population of 200,500 residents and is home to the world-famous All England Lawn Tennis Club, where the Wimbledon Championships take place.

Each year [......]

Peterborough City Council

Peterborough City Council is a unitary authority in the East of England and a 45 minute train ride from London.


We are planning to hold a question time event involving local councillors and other local public figures with the audience being made up of [......]

Portsmouth, City

Portsmouth is the second largest city in the ceremonial county of Hampshire on the south coast of England. Portsmouth is notable for being the United Kingdom's only island city; it is located mainly on Portsea Island and is a significant naval port of England.

The [......]

ROCHDALE Metropolitan Borough Council

RochdaleMBC is a Metropolitain Borough in Greater Manchester, England. It lies amongst the foothills of the Pennines on the River Roch, 5.3 miles (8.5 km) north-northwest of Oldham, and 9.8 miles (15.8 km) north-northeast of the city of Manchester. Rochdale along [......]

Partner associations

South Lakeland District Council

South Lakeland District Council was formed in 1974 and is one of six district authorities in Cumbria. All councillors are elected for a term of 4 years. Elections covering one third of the district are held for three years out of four. In the fourth year, Cumbria County [......]